Skip to main content

Stoneham High School Library/Media Center: National History Day --- Help with Research

Look in Other Libraries

OTHER LIBRARIES
 
 Stoneham Public Library. Library cards are free! If the Stoneham Public Library doesn’t own books on your subject, they will borrow books for you from other libraries. This Interlibrary Loan process takes a little time, but is worth the extra effort. Search the entire North of Boston library network for available books at  Apply for a SPL PIN# and you may request books online from the NOBLE network! They will text or email you when your books arrive.

 

 Boston Public Library   e-card, access their History databases under Electronic Resources, especially JSTOR, New York Times 1851-2007,  New York Times 1985-Present, and America's Historical Newspapers. See Mrs. Connelly for help applying for a BPL ecard.
 

Important Places

IMPORTANT PLACES

 

Massachusetts Archives  Searchable collections of state documents with emphasis on early MA government, black history, military history and genealogy. The Archives are located in Dorchester near the JFK Library.
 
Massachusetts Historical Society  Search this site for all Massachusetts subjects. You may also view their document catalog and visit their library in Boston.
 
National Archives and Records Administration Located in Waltham this archives center has a wealth of primary documents on a variety of subjects.
 

SEARCH ALL DATABASES AS ONCE!

User name and password for all databases stoneham and student

User name and password for all databases 

 stoneham and student

Issues & Controversies in American History
American History
Issues & Controversies
World News Digest
Modern World History

All-Subject Databases

PLACES TO LOOK FOR PRIMARY SOURCES....

 

Digital Public Library of America   Over 7 million resources from libraries, archives, and museums searchable by subject.

 

Library of Congress Primary Source Theme Sets

 

New York Public Library Digital Collection 

 

Docs Teach – including 3,000+ primary sources – from the National Archives.

 

“Eye Witness to History” – This site present history through the eyes of those who lived it through primary sources excerpts qof witnesses to major historical events. Presented by Ibis Communications, Inc

 

“Chronicling America” Digital collection of historic American newspapers from 23 states, from 1860-1922. Search by state, newspaper, dates, keyword, or use pre-determined search dates and keywords organized by topic, in “Topics in Chronicling America.”

 

Digital Commonwealth - Thousands of images, documents, and sound recordings that have been digitized by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.

 

National Archives “Research Our Records” “Our Documents - 100 Milestone Documents” www.ourdocuments.gov We invite all Americans to participate in a series of events and programs to get us thinking, talking and teaching about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our

 

Smithsonian Institute Collections Search over 7.8 million catalog records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals, and other resources from the Smithsonian’s museums, archives, and libraries.

 

Smithsonian Institution Archives Search the Smithsonian Archives’ collections, which contain the office records of the Smithsonian, as well as personal papers, special collections, records of professional societies, and oral/video histories relating to the history of the Smithsonian.

 

“Making of America” University of Michigan and Cornell University A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

 

“The Avalon Project,” Yale Law School. Documents in law, history and diplomacy, ranging from 4000 BCE to the present. Documents are grouped by century and listed alphabetically.

 

“Medicine and Madison Avenue” Duke University Libraries The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines.

 

“The Living Room Candidate,” Museum of the Moving Image. The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election from 1952 to 2008.

 

“The American Presidency Project,” University of California, Santa Barbara. Comprehensive collection of documents related to the study of the presidency.

 

“Ad*Access” Duke University Libraries – Digital Collections Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements coving five product categories – Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda – dated between 1911 and 1955.

 

Government Bills and Acts --US Government Publishing Office 

 

American Journeys    Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration

 

American Memory Project at the Library of Congress  Primary documents, online exhibits.

Archival Research Catalog  Online catalog for the National Archives.  Extensive collection of images, searchable by topic or region.

Best of History Websites  This award winning website has links to thousands of recommended websites.

Digital History This is a great collaborative website with many sponsors. Its strengths include virtual exhibits, primary resources, and information for teachers.
 
Digital Public Library of America   Over 7 million resources from libraries, archives, and museums searchable by subject.

 
 
Famous Trials   Trial information for 70 famous trils including chronology, primary documents, and images.
 
HarpWeek   Harper's Weekly was a famous magazine noted for its political cartoons dating back to the 1860s.
 
History Channel  Videos and audio transcripts searchable by subject.

HyperHistory Online  2,000 files covering 3,000 years of world history.

Internet Archive: Wayback Machine  An archive for web pages, ebooks, audio, and video material.
 

Mass Moments  If you are focusing on our state’s history, check out this site. Enter your search term and receive general information along with additional resources.
 
 
 
National Museum of American History  This branch of the Smithsonian Institute has museum exhibits searchable by subject.
 
New Deal Network  This database is devoted to Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt.
 
Open Collections Program  From Harvard University, an extensive collections of primary sources including Expeditions and Disoveries, Immigration to the US 1789-1930, and Women Working 1800-1930

Our Documents   One hundred of the most important documents in U.S. history.

PBS   This public broadcasting channel is searchable by subject.

The Picture Collection   Over 30,000 digital images searchable by subject.

Society of American Archivists   This online toolkit helps NHD students locate and contact archives with relevant resources.
 
SpeechWall  Contains written speeches, letters and videos of political leaders from the 17th - 20th Century. 

Teach US History   This website contains historic primary source images and text as well as background information that provides historical, cultural, and literary context to significant events in American history.
 
Worcester Women's History Project   Primary sources regarding women's hisory.

World Digital Library   Primary source materials from all over the world.

World War II Resources   Ten resources for learning and teaching about WWII.